No matter what your major or the type of Bachelor’s Degree that you hold . . . ACT Houston/Dallas/Austin offers content and grade level certification for you to enter the classroom quickly – without any additional university coursework.

Applicants must pass the TExES Content Test for their desired certification area, prior to enrolling.  There are some certifications that require two or more TExES Content Tests.  For example,
     EC-6 or 4-8 Bilingual certification requires: #291 EC-6 OR #211 Core Subjects, #164 Bilingual Supplemental and #190 Bilingual Target Language Proficiency Test (BTLPT)

     EC-12 Special Education requires: #161 Sp. Ed. and a grade-level content test.

The following TExES Content exams were administered for the last time on August 31, 2015 & were replaced as shown:

TExES Content Tests until 8/31/15    NEW TExES tests beginning September 1, 2015
#191  Generalist EC-6 #291 Core Subjects EC-6
#111  Generalist 4-8 #211 Core Subjects 4-8
#192  Bilingual Generalist EC-6 #291 Core Subjects EC-6, #164 Bilingual Suppl, #190 BTLPT
#119  Bilingual Generalist 4-8 #211 Core Subjects 4-8, #164 Bilingual Suppl, #190 BTLPT
#193  ESL/Generalist EC-6 #291 Core Subjects EC-6, #154 ESL Supplemental
#120  ESL/Generalist 4-8 #211 Core Subjects 4-8, #154 ESL Supplemental

For candidates passing any of the tests that expired on 8/31/15 have until 8/31/2017 to complete the remaining requirements for certification.  For further information and a comparison of the Generalist vs. Core Subjects test, click here.

IMPORTANT NOTE:  Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit FAQs
As of September 1, 2015, candidates are limited to five attempts to take a certification test. Any and all attempts prior to 9/1/2015 count as the first attempt.  The five attempts include the first attempt to pass the examination and four retakes. The five attempts include any of the test approval methods (PACT, EPP, out of state, charter, and CBE). The Texas Education Agency (TEA) is implementing this change to Texas Education Code §21.048 in response to House Bill 2205, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015. For more information, please see the
Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit FAQs.
Are you a JROTC Instructor seeking teacher certification?
As of September 1, 2015, JROTC is now available to JROTC Instructors who hold a Bachelor's Degree from an accredited university. 

According to SB No. 1309, employed JROTC instructors who meet our program eligibility requirements, can get started immediately in the Preparation Program Institute and then be ready for Standard Certification.
Schedule an appointment now for more information on streamlined requirements!********************************************************************
Important information, registration, & test preparation resources are available at: for the following certification areas:

Art (Grades EC-12)
Dance (Grades 8-12)
Computer Science (Grades 8-12)
Technology Applications (Grades EC-12 & 8-12)

Core Subjects (Grades EC-6 & 4-8) & Generalist Grades (Grades EC-6 & 4-8)
Special Education (Grades EC-6 - 12

English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 4-8 & 7-12)
English Language Arts and Reading/Social Studies (Grades 4-8)

Health (Grades EC-12)
Journalism (Grades 8-12)
Music (Grades EC-12)
Physical Education (Grades EC-12)
Speech (Grades 7-12)

Languages Other Than English – (Grades EC-12)
Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Latin, Spanish 
American Sign Language

Mathematics & Science
Mathematics (Grades 4-8 & 7-12)
Math / Science (Grades 4-8)
Mathematics, Physical Science, & Engineering (Grades 6-12)
Chemistry (Grades 7-12)
Life Sciences (Biology) (Grades 7-12)
Physical Science (Grades 7-12)
Science (Grades 4-8 & 7-12)
Physics/Mathematics (Grades 7-12)

Social Studies
History (Grades 7-12)
Social Studies (Grades 4-8 & 7-12)

Supplemental (Grades EC-12)
Gifted and Talented
Special Education

Career & Technical Education
Agricultural Science & Technology 6-12
Business Education 6-12
Family & Consumer Sciences 6-12
   Apply for test at
FCS: Hospitality, Nutrition & Food Sciences 8-12
FCS: Human Development & Family Studies 8-12
Health Science 6-12
Marketing Education 6-12
Technology Education 6-12
Trade & Industrial Education 6-12
Technology Applications (Grades 8-12)
Technology Applications (Grades EC-12)
Technology Education (Grades 6-12)
Theatre (Grades EC-12)
Trade and Industrial Education (Grades 8-12)

How to Become A Teacher in Texas

Five Easy Steps that begin with a phone call!

Step 1: Appointment to determine your eligibility

Step 2: TExES Content Exam for your certification area

Step 3: Preparation Program Institute & Field-based Experience

Step 4: Choose your route to teach! Internship OR Clinical Teaching Practicum


Begin your teaching career NOW!